Des Townson Memorial Electron Regatta Report Hosted by Gulf Harbour Radio Yacht Club, Gulf Harbour Gulf Harbour Friday Saturday 16TH start 9am Nov 2024 Regency Park Drive Lake, Gulf Harbour Auckland.

Rain saw the practice day on Friday being reduced to an afternoon of boat scrutineering by the organising team lead by Peter Stathdee, however on Saturday the weather turned favourable for 28 Electron owners from Whangarei to Picton to the Cook Islands.

A steady breeze along the length of the Lake allowed for a traditional Des Townson windward leeward course with offset marks at both ends.



Like all regattas a lot of work goes into the preparation and on the day running of these events and the team at Gulf Harbour did a wonderful job keeping the day flowing and the fleets in the water on time.



The regatta had been a culmination of work between long time Townson family friends Lindsay Graves (BBYC) and GHRYC member Brett May, whose father Noel, had hand crafted the magnificent trophy which, being a treasured heirloom, was returned by Lindsay to the May family.

Gulf Harbour Radio Yachting Club presented an opportunity to recommence this extremely popular regatta, first sailed in November 2009, after the untimely arrival Covid in 2020.

So popular was the event that entries were closed off some 6 weeks before the event with many Electron owners ruing their tardiness in submitting an entry and also served as a platform for GHRYC, with local Mike Lanigan, to getting the Electron fleet sailing regularly again on Regency Park Lake. Several locals purchased Electrons prior to the regatta and the club has started to grow encouragingly.



A steady breeze meant that 4 flights of competitors each completed 6 races prior to the lunch break and further 6 after lunch, with the sailing finishing around 3pm with competitors, organisers and supporters retreating to the GHYC clubrooms at the marina for prize giving and dinner.



The days sailing finished off with 2 "fun" around the buoys races which saw one of the umpires for the day, local IOM national champion Rob Nelson, join the fleet of 28 Electrons sailing John Rountree's Electron.





Results for the regatta are shown below with Mahurangi sailor Gary Caldwell winning the regatta from Brett May (Gulf Harbour) second and Greg Stenbeck (Orakei YC) third.

A highlight of the days sailing and prizegiving was the attendance of Sue Townson (who has provided many of the photos in this report) and it was an honour to have Sue at prize giving, presenting the prizes and wonderful trophy and medals.

Sue took the opportunity to announce that she was "passing on the rights" of all matters pertaining to the Electrons to current licensed builder and one of the biggest supporters of Electrons for many years, Greg Stenbeck.

Greg has committed to continue the legacy of Des and endeavour to adhere to the "one design" philosophy of Des to ensure Electron sailing for many years to come.

Des Townson Memorial ELECTRON REGATTA 2024 - RESULTS

Skipper I.D.		Rou	Round Robin 1 Points Round Robin 2 Points														Final	I.D.	8													
		1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	10	11	12	#	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	10	11	12	#		Discards	Points.		
Gary Caldwell	97	3	1			3	2			2	3			14	3	1			2	1			1	1			9	23	6	17	97	1
Brett May	N1	1	7				-	5	6	- 23		1	4	24	1	7					2	1		1000	2	1	14	38	14	24	N1	2
Greg Stenbeck	3			3	2	2	3					2	5	17			2	9	4	3					1	6	25	42	15	27	3	3
Colin Caldwell	95	4	4					7	3			5	1	24	4	4					1	2			6	2	19	43	13	30	95	4
Ray Nixon	21			4	5	7	1					4	2	23			6	3	3	2					4	5	23	46	13	33	21	5
Peter Heays	88	2	2	9				2	10			3	8	27	2	2					8	6			3	3	24	51	18	33	88	6
Lindsay Graves	71			6	1			6	5	5	6			29			4	1			3	8	5	2			23	52	14	38	71	7
John Rountree	70	5	5	ļ.,		4	5	٠.,		1	4	}	- 70	24	5	5		-	9	4	,	,	2	3			28	52	14	38	70	8
Tony Heays	69			-1	7	1	7					14	6	36			1	12	5	5					- 5	4	32	68	26	42	69	9
Mike Vinning	28			- 5	6		-	1	2	6	2			22			9	7			4	3	8	6			37	59	17	42	28	10
John Anderson 197	P8			2	12			4	7	11	9			45			- 5	2			5	4	4	4			24	69	23	46	P8	11
Steve Parker	14	7	3	8 "		14	4			3	10	9		41	7	3			1	8			3	9			31	72	24	48	14	12
Kevin Hassall	F3			8	3			8	9	4	1			33			3	11			6	7	7	12			46	79	23	56	F3	13
Graham Murray	11			11	10			3	4	9	8		- 1	45			7	5			7	5	9	5			38	83	21	62	11	14
Mike Lannigan	74	6	6	8 1		6	8			8	7			41	6	6			6	10			6	7			41	82	18	64	74	15
Mark Henshaw	H1			7	8	5	6			0.00		10	7	43			11	6	10	7				1000	8	8	50	93	21	72	H1	16
Dave McKenzie	K5			14	4	13	14					8	3	56			8	4	11	6					7	9	45	101	28	73	K5	17
Richard Burgess	E9	8	8					11	8			6	9	50	8	8				-	9	10			14	10	59	109	25	84	E9	18
Grant Brown	20			10	11			9	1	10	5			46			10	14			14	9	12	8			67	113	28	85	20	19
Paul Anderson	65	9	11			9	11			7	11			58	9	11			7	13			14	11			65	123	27	96	65	20
John Evans	D3	11	. 9			10	12			14	13		v	69	11	9			8	9			10	13			60	129	27	102	D3	21
Dave Jennings	M4			9	9	11	9		-0			13	14	65			12	8	13	11					10	14	68	133	28	105	M4	22
Rob Carpenter	G6	10	10					14	11			12	13	70	10	10					11	13			12	. 7	63	133	27	106	G6	23
Matthew Montgomery	K2			13	14	8	13					9	12	69			14	13	12	12					9	13	73	142	28	114	K2	24
Dave Collins	К7	12	12					12	13			11	11	71	12	12					10	11			11	12	68	139	25	114	K7	25
Max Carpenter	F1			12	13			10	12	12	14			73			13	10			13	12	-11	10			69	142	27	115	F1	26
David Thumath	50	13	13					13	14			7	10	70	13	13					12	14			13	11	76	146	28	118	50	27
Steve Hourigan 145	M5	14	14	§]		12	10	6		13	12	9		75	14	14			14	14			13	14	1112		83	158	28	130	M5	28
	1000-	- 22	Tes			- 22	- 2,50			150	.0123			0	1	375			2000	500			100	200			0	0		0		

WINNER GARY CALDWELL

RUNNER UP BRETT MAY







THIRD GREG STENBECK

FOURTH COLIN CALDWELL



THANK YOU DES



